Randomville

Tech Talk => PC Load Letter?!? => Topic started by: Cockney Rebel on July 23, 2010, 03:27:27 PM

Title: Thank you please for your answers
Post by: Cockney Rebel on July 23, 2010, 03:27:27 PM
I think our cable modem - 5 years old - is slowly crapping out. It's not quite there, but I think it will be soon.

I have it connected to a Linksys router which services our 4 laptops, all of which took me an age to hook up to it because of security settings etc

Q: If I swap out the cable modem - $50 or so - and get it configured, and then connect the router, will all of the latter's settings be kept to maintain connection to the lappys?
Title: Re: Thank you please for your answers
Post by: dirk on July 23, 2010, 04:02:55 PM
Yes, as long as you don't swap the router, all the setting should be kept.  My question is why would swapping the cable modem cost you $50?  Does Comcast (i know your in KY, so I assume it's Comcast) really charge you to swap them out when they go bad?
Title: Re: Thank you please for your answers
Post by: Cockney Rebel on July 23, 2010, 05:03:48 PM
It's Inshite here..

They rent you a modem for $3 a month until you've given them $50 for it - during which time it will get swapped out free, after which you're on your own. No monthly charge until you need a new one. Yes, it's money for old rope but they're the only game in town.

Glad the router settings will stay intact, I feel happier about messing with it now
Title: Re: Thank you please for your answers
Post by: Dan on July 23, 2010, 10:54:34 PM
I have an unrelated question:

My facebook account is linked to my gmail address, which is fine. I don't care that someone can search me using the gmail addy. What bothers me is that if I email someone on gmail, but never do anything with them on facebook, why does it suddenly start suggesting that person to me? Or more importantly, how can I get facebook to specifically STOP reading my emails?
Title: Re: Thank you please for your answers
Post by: Ella Minnow Pea on July 24, 2010, 12:35:30 AM
Did you use the find features friend using gmail on Facebook? If so, I suspect that Facebook saved all the addresses it found at that time and is still using them to suggest friends. I don't think that it keeps checking gmail without your explicit permission.

Then again, I've been suggested former co-workers who I've never e-mailed. I think it's becoming sentient.
Title: Re: Thank you please for your answers
Post by: Doug on July 26, 2010, 11:11:33 AM
I thought that when you use one of those friend finder apps, etc in Facebook, you basically give it permission to do that.  Just remove your app.  I never use those Facebook apps.
Title: Re: Thank you please for your answers
Post by: Dan on July 26, 2010, 01:08:58 PM
I'm pretty sure I removed the app, but I'll check again. I think when I first signed up I may have used the friend finder, but man that was long ago and I don't really remember.

I would have thought that if it was checking my gmail account, it would ask me every time in the same manner that it did the first time. Of course, shadier things have happened, so who knows?
Title: Re: Thank you please for your answers
Post by: rva on July 26, 2010, 03:19:14 PM
What it probably did was ask you if you wanted to look through the addresses of people who had already e-mailed you.  That way you'd be caught up. 

And from then on it would just check whenever someone new emails you.
Title: Re: Thank you please for your answers
Post by: Dan on July 26, 2010, 05:40:41 PM
I now have zero apps. I dunno - there's nothing that indicates I'm sharing passwords or anything.
Title: Re: Thank you please for your answers
Post by: Dan on April 11, 2012, 02:13:07 PM
NEW QUESTION!

I have an OLD website (linky here) (http://mistergugi.tripod.com/shows.htm) that is mostly defunct but I like updating the concerts that I've seen. I don't know much about coding and websites in general, so all I knew was how to log into tripod using my Microsoft Frontpage 2002 and edit it and hit save.

Now when I open Frontpage it says that it cannot find the website. I don't know how to access it any other way. Do you guys have any suggestions? Is there another free program I can use? Or do you think Tripod has locked it down or something?
Title: Re: Thank you please for your answers
Post by: Doug on April 11, 2012, 02:24:21 PM
I would contact Tripod.  The page looks simple enough, so it must be some security on their side.
Title: Re: Thank you please for your answers
Post by: Poolio on April 11, 2012, 03:00:52 PM
Now when I open Frontpage it says that it cannot find the website. I don't know how to access it any other way. Do you guys have any suggestions? Is there another free program I can use? Or do you think Tripod has locked it down or something?

I dunno, I have an ancient webpage on Tripod as well. On a whim a few weeks ago, I tried to login and it didn't recognize my username and password. Granted, I hadn't logged on in a very, very long time so they might have flushed the account (but not the page). Please post what you hear from Tripod (if anything), I'm curious to see what's going on.
Title: Re: Thank you please for your answers
Post by: Dan on April 12, 2012, 11:52:08 AM
I would contact Tripod.  The page looks simple enough, so it must be some security on their side.

Thanks for the idea. I didn't even think about that. I was able to go into the actual code and figure out how to add more lines to my table, so I added the 3 latest shows, but the table part at the bottom of the page was too complicated for me to bother with. I'll see if I can email them, but at this writing that looks more difficult than it should be.
Title: Re: Thank you please for your answers
Post by: Doug on April 12, 2012, 12:03:27 PM
Are you talking about everything under the Zutons entry?  Looks like some empty rows to me.

Aside from the advertising they wedged into the page, the rest is dead simple html.  You could just edit it in Notepad or Word.  I would just make sure to backup the file in a working state before you save changes, that way you have a backout plan in case you make some errors in your editing.
Title: Re: Thank you please for your answers
Post by: Dan on April 12, 2012, 12:11:57 PM
No, I am referring to the table which I made showing the number of times I've seen each band. I need to move a couple of bands from one column to the next, but the html seems to read it in rows, which means I need to redo almost all of the rows down there. I know it's probably not hard, but it's harder than my non-skills allow.

No worries. And thanks for the replies.
Title: Re: Thank you please for your answers
Post by: lutz on April 12, 2012, 01:18:17 PM
If you mean you need to move some bands from Opener 1 to Opener 2+, you just need to stick in front of them a td containing "&nbsp" (without quotes). If you specify the width of the td like you have for others in the same column, it should work. The &nbsp just acts as invisible content to pad out the cell.
Title: Re: Thank you please for your answers
Post by: Doug on April 12, 2012, 01:26:37 PM
Yeah, what he said.  ;)
Title: Re: Thank you please for your answers
Post by: Dan on April 12, 2012, 03:21:09 PM
Lutz is a she.

There are two tables. The main one, which I just listed all the concerts I saw in order, with each row being a concert.

Then at the bottom there's another table with headers "2 Times", "3 Times", "4 Times" etc. I couldn't read the html for that table simply so I'm leaving it alone.
Title: Re: Thank you please for your answers
Post by: lutz on April 12, 2012, 05:27:09 PM
Damn my lack of testicles!
Title: Re: Thank you please for your answers
Post by: lutz on April 12, 2012, 06:48:48 PM
Dan, you can use this if you want:
https://docs.google.com/open?id=0BwKWS2rWRm9FUmRTeFJiN0M2SkE (https://docs.google.com/open?id=0BwKWS2rWRm9FUmRTeFJiN0M2SkE)

Just copy and paste the style bit into the head of the html file and overwrite the bottom part of your table with the rest. It's easier to read, so might make it easier for you to move bands around.

If you're really bored and fancy trying to do the same for the bulk of your table (maybe next time you incapacitate yourself, haha), I'd recommend downloading gedit (http://projects.gnome.org/gedit/). It's like Notepad, but helpfully highlights code in different colours and has an excellent search-replace function.
Title: Re: Thank you please for your answers
Post by: Dan on April 12, 2012, 08:05:35 PM
ZOMG that worked! Thanks Lutz. You're the best.

Sometimes I just love the niceness of people.
Title: Re: Thank you please for your answers
Post by: Kwyjibo on April 13, 2012, 02:31:25 PM
I have a question... has anybody had any experience with teaching themselves Visual Basic?  I've been curious to learn and it looks like there are books out there aimed at self teaching.  Would love to hear any pointers or thoughts.  Thanks.
Title: Re: Thank you please for your answers
Post by: Kenneth Toilethole on April 13, 2012, 02:38:17 PM
Would you consider taking an online course through Sinclair?

That's what I did and it worked out pretty well. I just had to show up twice on campus to take my midterm and my final.
Title: Re: Thank you please for your answers
Post by: Kwyjibo on April 13, 2012, 02:38:52 PM
Yeah, that might be an option... was it super costly?
Title: Re: Thank you please for your answers
Post by: lutz on April 13, 2012, 02:41:44 PM
You might find some help here (http://www.reddit.com/r/learnprogramming/search?q=visual+basic&restrict_sr=on).
Title: Re: Thank you please for your answers
Post by: Zafer Kaya on April 13, 2012, 02:58:08 PM
Are you sure you want to learn Visual Basic?  Not trying to be a jerk, it just seems like a odd thing to want to learn. 
Title: Re: Thank you please for your answers
Post by: Kwyjibo on April 13, 2012, 03:18:37 PM
For the type of programming I'd likely need (small specific programs for my own use/excel macros) I believe it makes sense but no, I'm not sure of anything.
Title: Re: Thank you please for your answers
Post by: Zafer Kaya on April 13, 2012, 03:50:54 PM
That is kind of why I asked.  Visual Basic and VBA are a little different.  Not so much in terms of the actual programming, but in terms of their use.  So if you are looking for a book or class, look for VBA (Visual Basic for Applications) and *not* Visual Basic.

VBA is what is used to write Excel Macros and there are special classes and books for VBA that will be oriented for regular people who want to do things with spreadsheets and not techie programmers trying to design applications (ie. software, programs) for use in a .net framework.
Title: Re: Thank you please for your answers
Post by: Butter on April 13, 2012, 04:12:52 PM
I've done some self-teaching on VBA.  If you really have some time and force yourself, I think it would be pretty time-consuming, but ultimately pretty rewarding.  I took a 3 day class from New Horizons, and then forced myself to spend a weekend and write a macro myself using the programming, but I've let a lot of the training rot since then. 

I would recommend investing in a book or two and expect to spend a lot of time troubleshooting the frustrating code when you realize you left a ( off or something.
Title: Re: Thank you please for your answers
Post by: Kenneth Toilethole on April 13, 2012, 05:10:56 PM
As far as the Sinclair course, I think it was $225 or something like that. But that was with the Montgomery County discount.