Randomville

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
GigaBook.com
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: WTF, Windows 8?  (Read 2461 times)

Kwyjibo

• Bringing Grumpy Back
  • City Elder
WTF, Windows 8?
« on: January 03, 2013, 01:21:48 PM »

So we bought a new laptop around Thanksgiving.  I honestly haven't futzed with it much, but from what little I have I'm frustrated as hell with Windows 8.  I'm not a software engineer but in my job I do have to evaluate the usability of our eCommerce applications... rule one with me is that if something requires more than a one sentence explanation then it's probably too complicated.  What was the thinking around this?  What were they trying to accomplish?  Why did they neuter the desktop?  The whole thing stinks of hubris... smug know it all assholes inventing the next big thing without any regard to how people actually use Windows.  There's shit popping up everywhere.  I don't have a clue what to do with these stupid tiles... other than bypass them entirely and go to the desktop.  Fixing what wasn't broken proves once again to be a stupid strategy.

Anybody else have any opinion... or have any suggestions on how I go about filling myself in on what I'm missing?
Baby, check this out, I've got something to say.  Man, it's so loud in here.

Zafer Kaya

• City Elder
Re: WTF, Windows 8?
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2013, 01:43:56 PM »

For me there's some high techy applications that I run and Windows 8 does in fact run them much faster than Windows 7 so it is worth the trade off.  But yeah, I'd tell most people not to switch.

On the plus side, I will say that MS sort of didn't have a choice.  The look and whateveryoucallit "overlay" of Metro could have been done better.  But touchscreens/non-keyboard interfacing is almost certainly the direction things are going, and they beefed up some other stuff so the whole Windows desktop really kind of doesn't make sense.